List of current NFL head coaches

Who are the current head coaches that will be leading the 32 NFL franchises when the 2021 NFL season begins later this year?

With another offseason involving big changes, who are the current 32 NFL head coaches in 2021? Which coaches have been around for a while and who are the new names to know?

Current NFL head coaches

The 2021 NFL regular season and some NFL teams are making changes. Some coaches have fallen victim to the 2022 Black Monday cycle, including Dolphins’ Brian Flores and Broncos’ Vic Fangio. Let’s start with the AFC.

AFC head coaches

Going in alphabetical order, we kick things off in Baltimore with the Ravens’ long-tenured head coach, John Harbaugh.

Baltimore Ravens | John Harbaugh

John Harbaugh has been the head coach of the Baltimore Ravens since 2008. He enters the 2021 season with a career win percentage of .617 (140-87). His record in the postseason is 11-8, including winning Super Bowl XLVII. During his tenure as head coach, the Ravens have had 10 winning seasons and made the playoffs nine times. They have had just one season with a losing record under Harbaugh (5-11 in 2015).

Harbaugh’s background is as a special teams and defensive backs coach. However, he also coached tight ends, running backs, and outside linebackers early in his career.

Buffalo Bills | Sean McDermott

The 2021 NFL season will be Sean McDermott’s fifth as the Buffalo Bills head coach. Through four seasons, McDermott’s Bills have made the playoffs three times. Their trip to the AFC Conference Championship last season is the deepest they have progressed under him. His overall record is 40-29 (.580), with a 2-3 playoff record.

McDermott’s background is as a defensive coordinator. He spent 10 seasons with the Philadelphia Eagles in various roles and six seasons as the Carolina Panthers defensive coordinator.

Cincinnati Bengals | Zac Taylor

At 38, Zac Taylor is one of the youngest head coaches in the NFL in 2021. He was hired by the Bengals in 2019, having previously worked as a quarterbacks coach for the Los Angeles Rams. In his first two seasons, Taylor’s record is 6-25-1 (.203).

Cleveland Browns | Kevin Stefanski

One of several NFL head coaches under the age of 40, Kevin Stefanski won the AP Coach of the Year award in his first year in 2020. He led the Cleveland Browns to an 11-5 record in the regular season before taking the Browns to their first playoff win in over 25 years. Stefanski’s background is on offense, having served as an offensive coordinator as well as quarterbacks, running backs, and tight ends coach.

Denver Broncos | Nathaniel Hackett

The Denver Broncos hired Green Bay Packers’ offensive coordinator Nathaniel Hackett to be their 18th head coach in franchise history. Hackett, the son of former NFL coach Paul Hackett, previously had stints as the offensive coordinator for the Jacksonville Jaguars (2016-2018) and Buffalo Bills (2013-2014). Hackett’s offense ranked in the top 10 in both points scored-per-game (26.5) and total passing yards (4,315).

Houston Texans | Lovie Smith

After a rocky head coach search, the Texans ultimately promoted defensive coordinator Lovie Smith to be their new head coach. During his nine years as head coach of the Chicago Bears, Smith went 81-63, had five winning seasons, three NFC North titles, one Super Bowl appearance, and one NFL Coach of the Year award.

Indianapolis Colts | Frank Reich

Frank Reich took over as head coach of the Indianapolis Colts in 2018. He has led them to two playoff appearances in those three seasons. His background is also on offense, having served as offensive coordinator when the Philadelphia Eagles won Super Bowl LII. As a player, Reich is famed for leading the largest comeback in NFL history.

Jacksonville Jaguars | Doug Pederson

The Jacksonville Jaguars hired Doug Pederson to be the franchise’s seventh head coach.  The Jaguars have gone 4-29 over the last two seasons, and Pederson will now be expected to turn the franchise around the same way he did in Philadelphia. Pederson finished his time with the Eagles with a 42-37-1 record that saw him go 4-2 in the playoffs and win a Super Bowl.

Kansas City Chiefs | Andy Reid

Andy Reid’s head coaching career spans more than two decades, going back to his time as head coach of the Eagles in 1999. He took over as the Chiefs head coach in 2013. As the Kansas City head coach, Reid has a .711 win percentage (91-37). He has led the Chiefs to back-to-back Super Bowl appearances, winning Super Bowl LIV.

Las Vegas Raiders | Josh McDaniels

The Raiders overlooked Interim Head Coach Rich Bisaccia to hire Patriots offensive coordinator Josh McDaniels away from New England as their new head coach. This is McDaniels’ second stint as a head coach, going 11-17 before being fired ahead of his second year came to a close. More recently, McDaniels accepted the head coach position with the Colts in 2018 before withdrawing his commitment the same day.

Los Angeles Chargers | Brandon Staley

Brandon Staley enters 2021 as a rookie head coach. He has spent the past 15 seasons mostly as a defensive coordinator or coach. Staley served as the Los Angeles Rams defensive coordinator in 2020. He will be one of the youngest head coaches in the NFL in 2021.

Miami Dolphins | Mike McDaniel

The Miami Dolphins hired San Francisco 49ers offensive coordinator Mike McDaniel as their new head coach. McDaniel worked under 49ers coach Kyle Shanahan for the past 11 seasons and is credited for his role in developing San Francisco’s dynamic running game.

New England Patriots | Bill Belichick

As the longest-serving NFL head coach, Bill Belichick is also the second-oldest among the league’s head coaches. He has been with the Patriots for 21 years, with a 244-92 (.726) record. During that time, Belichick has a 30-11 playoff record and has won the Super Bowl six times. In 2019, he was named one of 10 head coaches to the NFL 100th Anniversary All-Time Team.

New York Jets | Robert Saleh

The 2021 NFL season will be Robert Saleh’s first as an NFL head coach. He spent the last four seasons as the defensive coordinator of the San Francisco 49ers. As a quality control coach with the Seahawks, Saleh won Super Bowl XLVIII. He has also had previous roles with the Jacksonville Jaguars and Houston Texans.

Pittsburgh Steelers | Mike Tomlin

Having been hired in 2007, Mike Tomlin is the third longest-tenured head coach in the NFL. During his time as head coach, the Steelers have a 153-86-1 (.640) record. He also led the team to a victory in Super Bowl XLIII, making him the youngest head coach to win a Super Bowl. As a head coach, Tomlin has never seen his team have a losing season in 14 years. He has led the Steelers to the playoffs nine times.

Tennessee Titans | Mike Vrabel

A three-time Super Bowl champion as a player, Mike Vrabel has been the head coach of the Tennessee Titans for three seasons. During that time, the Titans have gone 31-21 overall. The franchise has made the playoffs twice, and Vrabel has yet to preside over a losing season.


Every day, get free NFL updates sent straight to your inbox!