What Does the NFL Super Bowl MVP Winner Get?

    What’s in store for the Super Bowl MVP award winner? A trophy, free cars, accolades, and a whole lot more come with the distinction.

    The NFL’s Super Bowl MVP award is given to the most valuable player from the biggest game of the NFL season. Often, that falls on the shoulders of the quarterback, but there are some instances when that’s not the case. Although most players care only about hoisting the Lombardi Trophy, the NFL Super Bowl MVP honor also comes with some special hardware. What does the Super Bowl MVP winner get if they are selected for the award?

    What Does the NFL Super Bowl MVP Winner Get?

    The Super Bowl MVP winner gets the Pete Rozelle Trophy. Now, that might not be as exciting as the Lombardi Trophy, but it’s still a huge honor for most NFL players. The list of Super Bowl MVPs includes some of the biggest names in the sport, so etching your name into that history book is impressive, to say the least.

    Up until 2015, Super Bowl MVP winners were also given a free car. Tom Brady, after winning the award for his Super Bowl 49 performance, was the last Super Bowl MVP to be given a free vehicle.

    He famously re-gifted that car to the real hero of that Super Bowl, Malcolm Butler. You might recall that game between the New England Patriots and Seattle Seahawks when Butler intercepted Russell Wilson at the goal line to seal a Patriots victory.

    “I would love to give him the truck,” Brady said. “I’m going to figure out how to make that work.”

    A week later, Butler famously drove off in a brand-new red Chevy.

    When Hyundai signed to be the NFL’s “official car” from 2016 to 2019, they stopped giving a free vehicle to the award winners. An odd decision considering how many people watch the biggest NFL game of the year.

    Regardless, Ford once again took over in 2022 as the “official truck of Super Bowl 56.” However, that year’s Super Bowl MVP was not given a free truck.

    It will be interesting to see if the free car returns this year, but as it currently stands, Super Bowl MVPs will need to be happy with the Pete Rozelle Trophy and the accolades that come with it.

    Who Won Last Year’s Super Bowl MVP Award?

    Super Bowl 57 featured the Kansas City Chiefs and Philadelphia Eagles. In one of the higher-scoring Super Bowls of all-time, Patrick Mahomes led the Chiefs to a 38-35 victory en route to his second Super Bowl and Super Bowl Most Valuable Player.

    Mahomes threw three touchdowns, including two in the fourth quarter while playing on an injured ankle, to lift the Chiefs from a 10-point halftime deficit.

    Head coach Andy Reid spoke about what makes Mahomes so special after he won another MVP award.

    MORE: List of Super Bowl MVP Winners

    “He grew up in a locker room,” Reid said of Mahomes. “He’s seen the greats, and he strives to be the greatest. … When it’s time for the guys around them to raise their game, he helps them with that.”

    At 28 years old, Mahomes is a two-time Super Bowl champion, two-time Super Bowl MVP, and two-time NFL MVP.

    As the 2023 NFL season comes to a close, the 2024 NFL Draft is on the horizon. Pro Football Network has you covered with everything from team draft needs to the Top 100 prospects available. Plus, fire up PFN’s Mock Draft Simulator to put yourself in the general manager’s seat and make all the calls!

    Listen to the PFN Inside Access Podcast!

    Listen to the PFN Inside Access Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Fantasy Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review!

    Related Articles