PFN Preseason All-C-USA Team 2022: UTSA QB Frank Harris returns for more, takes top honor

    The PFN All-C-USA Team awards the top players on both sides of the ball from the conference ahead of the 2022 college football season.

    The All-C-USA Team in 2022 is headlined by a few household names after a terrific 2021 season. The UTSA Roadrunners took college football by storm with their surge to prominence and are set to continue their winning ways this fall. Presented in conjunction with our release of our College Football All-Americans, we at PFN debut our 2022 preseason All-C-USA Team, as voted on by our team of national analysts and NFL draft evaluators.

    PFN’s 2022 All-C-USA Team

    It’s important to note that these teams may look a bit different than the All-Conference teams listed by each individual conference. Our teams mirror our All-Americans, taking into consideration not only what a player has accomplished to date but looking forward to what we expect to see based on the growth of the athlete’s career.

    Offense | First team

    QB: Frank Harris, UTSA
    RB: DeWayne McBride, UAB
    RB: Ronald Awatt, UTEP
    WR: Tyrese Chambers, FIU
    WR: Zakhari Franklin, UTSA
    WR: Victor Tucker, Charlotte
    TE: Griffin Hebert, Louisiana Tech
    FLEX: Grant Dubose, Charlotte
    OT: Zuri Henry, UTSA
    G: Quantavious Leslie, Western Kentucky
    C: Ahofitu Maka, UTSA
    G: Elijah Klein, UTEP
    OT: Makai Hart, UTSA

    Defense | First team

    EDGE: Praise Amaewhule, UTEP
    DT: Markees Watts, Charlotte
    DT: Brandon Brown, UTSA
    EDGE: Juwuan Jones, Western Kentucky
    LB: KD Davis, North Texas
    LB: Dadrian Taylor, UTSA
    LB: Treshawn Chamberlain, Rice
    CB: Corey Mayfield Jr., UTSA
    CB: Starling Thomas V, UAB
    CB: Gabe Taylor, Rice
    S: Beejay Williamson, Louisiana Tech
    S: Rashad Wisdom, UTSA
    FLEX: Jadrian Taylor, UTEP

    Specialists | First team

    PK: Ethan Mooney, North Texas
    P: Lucas Dean, UTSA
    KR: Shadrick Byrd, Charlotte
    PR: Jaylin Lane, Middle Tennessee
    LS: Caleb Cantrell, UTSA

    UTSA is led by First-Team All-C-USA QB Frank Harris. One of the top quarterbacks across the country, Harris has etched his name into the UTSA record books in more than one place. He’s a terrific athlete but perhaps one of the country’s best leaders of his team. He has a great offensive line in front of him and one of the conference’s best receiving corps led by Zakhari Franklin. UTSA’s leader on defense also returns as Rashad Wisdom shares top safety honors with Louisiana Tech’s Beejay Williamson.

    FIU returns a top target as well in Tyrese Chambers, who needed fewer than 50 receptions to cross 1,000 yards last year.

    Offense | Second team

    QB: Chris Reynolds, Charlotte
    RB: Jermaine Brown, UAB
    RB: Calvin Camp, Charlotte
    WR: Smoke Harris, Louisiana Tech
    WR: De’Corian Clark, UTSA
    WR: Trea Shropshire, UAB
    TE: Jack Bradley, Rice
    FLEX: Jaylin Lane, Middle Tennessee
    OT: Kadeem Telfort, UAB
    G: Matthew Trehern, UAB
    C: Manase Mose, North Texas
    G: Panda Askew, Charlotte
    OT: Joshua Mote, Louisiana Tech

    Defense | Second team

    EDGE: Jordan Ferguson, Middle Tennessee
    DT: Keenan Stewart, UTEP
    DT: Fish McWilliams, UAB
    EDGE: Ikenna Enechukwu, Rice
    LB: Trevor Harmanson, UTSA
    LB: Jaden Hunter, Western Kentucky
    LB: Noah Wilder, UAB
    CB: Kahlef Hailassie, Western Kentucky
    CB: Teldrick Ross, Middle Tennessee
    CB: Cedric Woods, Louisiana Tech
    S: Grayson Cash, UAB
    S: Teja Young, FAU
    FLEX: Keondre Swoopes, UAB

    Specialists | Second team

    PK: Brayden Narveson, Western Kentucky
    P: Bernardo Rodriguez, North Texas
    KR: Jaylin Lane, Middle Tennessee
    PR: Smoke Harris, Louisiana Tech
    LS: Angelo Tejada, UTEP

    UTSA’s dominance doesn’t stop at the first team as De’Corian Clark makes a terrific No. 2 target for Harris. Charlotte’s Chris Reynolds has quietly performed at an elite level for the past two seasons and should be a nationally-known name by the season’s end. It’s a new era of football for UAB with the retirement of legendary head coach Bill Clark, but their strength in the trenches indicates their players selected to the All-C-USA Team.

    Offense | Honorable mention

    Jarret Doege, Western Kentucky
    N’Kosi Perry, FAU

    Shadrick Byrd, Charlotte
    Ari Broussard, Rice
    Oscar Adaway III, North Texas
    Deion Hankins, UTEP

    Daewood Davis
    , Western Kentucky
    Randall St. Felix, USF
    Joshua Cephus, UTSA
    LaJohntay Wester, FAU
    Roderic Burns, North Texas
    Je’Quan Burton, FAU

    Rivaldo Fairweather
    , FIU
    Oscar Cardenas, UTSA

    Bradley Rozner
    , Rice
    Elijah Spencer, Charlotte

    T.J. Moore
    , Charlotte
    Clay Servin, Rice
    Sidney Wells, UAB
    Chaz Neal, FAU

    Daizion Carroll
    , North Texas
    Gabe Blair, North Texas
    Marquice Robinson, FAU
    Braedon Nutter, Rice

    Rusty Staats
    , Western Kentucky
    Nick Weber, FAU

    Defense | Honorable mention

    Jaylen Joyner
    , FAU
    Kofi Wardlow, Charlotte
    Deshon Hall, Louisiana Tech
    Mykol Clark, Louisiana Tech

    Davon Strickland
    , FAU
    Darius Shipp, Western Kentucky
    Evan Anderson, FAU
    Brodric Martin, Western Kentucky

    Jonathan Butler
    , Middle Tennessee
    Jamal Ligon, UTSA
    Gaethan Bernadel, FIU
    Will Ignont, Western Kentucky
    Tyler Grubbs, Louisiana Tech
    Breon Hayward, UTEP

    Trey Creamer, Charlotte
    Dennis Barnes, UTEP
    Geo Howard, Charlotte
    Jordan Dunbar, Rice
    John Davis, North Texas
    Mac McWilliams, UAB

    Jaiden Cole, Louisiana Tech
    Solomon Rogers, Charlotte
    A.J. Brathwaite Jr., Western Kentucky
    Will Boler, UAB

    Zah Frazier, UTSA
    Kelechi Nwachuku, UTAS

    Specialists | Honorable mention

    Gavin Baechle, UTEP
    Jacob Barnes, Louisiana Tech

    Joshua Sloan, UTEP
    Kyle Greenwell, UAB

    Lexington Joseph, FIU
    Walter Dawn Jr., UTEP

    LaJohntay Wester, FAU
    Sean Fresch, Rice

    Brody Butler, Middle Tennessee
    Cole Kizziah, UAB

    For other Pro Football Network’s All-Conference Teams, view each conference here: ACC | B1G | Big 12Pac-12SECIndependentsAAC | MACMWCSun Belt

    Listen to the PFN Scouting Podcast

    Listen to the PFN Scouting Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Scouting Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review! Rather watch instead? Check out the PFN Scouting Podcast on our Scouting YouTube channel.

    Related Articles