NFL award races: Allen, Brady, Mahomes favorites to win MVP

With less than one month to the start of the 2022 NFL season, we get ready for one of the most anticipated regular seasons in recent years.

The NFL is almost back! With less than one month to the start of the 2022 NFL season, we get ready for one of the most anticipated regular seasons in recent years. The season is scheduled to begin on September 8 and run through January 8, 2023. The playoffs will begin on January 14 and end with Super Bowl LVII on February 12 at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

Even so, it’s never too early to check out NFL futures odds, which go beyond wagers on specific teams. Online sportsbooks also provide odds on individual accomplishments throughout the course of a season, and no prize is more coveted or entertaining to wager on than the NFL MVP.

What to watch for in 2022

Even though every NFL franchise competes for a decent playoff run, there are usually a few other coveted awards up for grabs. And when we discuss the NFL’s top award winners, we often spotlight the game’s best players.

Aaron Rodgers, the quarterback for the Green Bay Packers, recently won his fourth NFL MVP award, but there’s no guarantee he’ll have the same success now that his leading receiver, Davonte Adams, has left for the Las Vegas Raiders. Due to this uncertainty, other quarterbacks are now leading the early 2023 NFL Honors predictions.

Tom Brady’s continued commitment to the sport suggests that the GOAT is also a possibility when it comes to the MVP debate. However, we also have this new generation of outstanding quarterbacks, led by names like Patrick Mahomes and Josh Allen, who have emerged as major MVP candidates; a fact that won’t surprise who watched last season’s AFC Divisional playoff game.

According to NFL betting predictions on specialized websites, Buffalo Bills’ quarterback Josh Allen is the odds-on favorite to win the NFL Most Valuable Player award at the end of the season, at +700 odds. At +800 odds, Tom Brady is also among the favorites, at +800 odds, while Kansas City Chiefs’ Patrick Mahomes is the third-favorite, at +900 odds.

Josh Allen

After only three seasons in the league, Allen has quickly established himself as one of the best young quarterbacks in sports, propelling him to the top of the NFL MVP chances for the 2022–2023 season. Allen has a fantastic opportunity because of his uncanny ability to put up great numbers with his passing game and the fact that he is the Bills’ most potent rushing option.

It’s only a matter of time before the 26-year-old wins an MVP award, given his incredible performance over the past two seasons (73 passing touchdowns, 14 rushing touchdowns, and over 9,000 yards from scrimmage), as well as his ability to perform under pressure.

Tom Brady

Brady will make a comeback after a brief retirement in order to attempt to capture his eighth Super Bowl ring. To dismiss his prospects of winning his fourth MVP in the upcoming season would be foolish. Especially if we take into consideration the kind of talent he has at his disposal in the Buccaneers roster.

Coming right out of his 45th birthday, Brady will be at the helm of a lethal offense once again, with the likes of Leonard Fournette, Mike Evans and Chris Godwin helping him lead the team to another shot at the title. Brady, who has already won the prize three times – in 2007, 2010, and 2017 – could become the fourth member of a select group that includes Peyton Manning and Aaron Rodgers as the only four-time winners.

Patrick Mahomes

The 2021 season saw a slight statistical decline for the 2018 NFL MVP. The 4,839 yards and 37 touchdowns are undoubtedly high stats, but so are the 13 interceptions he threw throughout the season. However, over his final 10 games, he passed for 2,746 yards and 19 touchdowns. Most significantly, he wasn’t making mistakes, since he accounted for only four of his 13 INTs during that time.

In the MVP competition, where he’s certain to remain a mainstay for the majority of the next 10 seasons, Mahomes has reclaimed a top-three position thanks to his strong late-season performance. Although it will require time to adjust JuJu Smith-Schuster and Marquez Valdes-Scantling as Tyreek Hill’s replacements, Mahomes will unquestionably still be a threat to win the MVP award.

Listen to the PFN Betting Podcast

Listen to the PFN Betting Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Betting Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms. Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review!

Related Articles