New Titans’ Head Coach Brian Callahan A Topic of Conversation on NFL Red Carpet

Cincinnati Bengals center Ted Karras was at the NFL Honors on Thursday and took some time to praise former offensive coordinator Brian Callahan.

Cincinnati Bengals center Ted Karras didn’t win the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award that he was nominated for Thursday night at the NFL Honors, but that in no way dampened his thrill of being in Las Vegas and spreading the word about his work with the Village of Merici.

After making the rounds on Radio Row to talk about Merici, which is a supportive community for adults with disabilities, Karras and his wife, Rachel, walked the red carpet and stopped to talk to reporters along the way.

Bengals Center Ted Karras Shares Appreciation of Brian Callahan

Karras was asked for his thoughts on what the Tennessee Titans are getting in former Bengals offensive coordinator Brian Callahan.

“A great football guy. A guy that’s a pleasure to work with every day,” Karras said. “He knows the game inside and out and can tailor his scheme to the personnel he’s got. He’s very fluid in his schematics, which I’ve always very much appreciated.”

Pittsburgh Steelers defensive tackle Cameron Hayward won the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award in his sixth year as the team’s nominee.

While Karras didn’t win the award, he did win the social media challenge associated with it, earning an extra $10,000 for the Village of Merici.

This was Karras’ first time nominated, and he was appreciative of the honor and enjoyed the new experience.

“To be involved with the Payton family is a tremendous honor,” Karras told the team website. “To be mentioned in the same sentence as Walter is an honor I can’t even express the magnitude of that feeling.

“I’m still in the whirlwind of Vegas,” he added. “It’s fun to rub shoulders with all the stars. Jarrett Payton is one of them. It’s good to see my old Boston guys. Jason Kelce. Met him for the first time today. Really an honor to meet him. Probably the most dynamic center of all time and a guy I looked up to.”

Heyward’s win gave the Steelers five Man of the Year honors, tying them with the Chiefs for the most in the league since the NFL began handing out the award in 1969.

The Bengals have had three winners – Ken Anderson in 1975, Reggie Williams in 1986, and Anthony Muñoz in 1991.

KEEP READING: 2024 NFL Awards Winners — List of 2023-2024 NFL Honors Results

As the 2023 NFL season comes to a close, the 2024 NFL Draft is on the horizon. Pro Football Network has you covered with everything from team draft needs to the Top 100 prospects available. Plus, fire up PFN’s Mock Draft Simulator to put yourself in the general manager’s seat and make all the calls!

Listen to the PFN Bengals Podcast

Listen to the PFN Bengals Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Bengals Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review! Rather watch instead? Check out the PFN Bengals Podcast on our NFL YouTube channel.

Join the Conversation!

Related Articles