2020 NFL MVP Award Winner: Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers

    During a star-studded but socially safe ceremony for the 10th Annual NFL Honors, Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers earned the prestige of being the 2020 NFL Most Valuable Player (MVP).

    Aaron Rodgers wins 2020 NFL MVP award

    Aaron Rodgers was voted the 2020 NFL MVP, beating off competition from Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes and a host of other candidates. Although the Packers fell one game short of the Super Bowl, Rodgers once again proved that he is one of the best players in the NFL. The 2020 NFL season was one of the most productive of his career.

    This last season has represented somewhat of a “revenge tour” for Rodgers. Rather than add talented receivers early in the 2020 NFL Draft, the Packers instead used their first-round selection on Utah State quarterback Jordan Love. Amongst rumors of unrest within Lambeau Field, Rodgers proceeded to dominate the NFL in emphatic style.

    A dominant 2020 season by Aaron Rodgers results in the NFL MVP award

    You can pick any quarterback metric from the 2020 NFL season, and Rodgers likely dominated it. The Green Bay quarterback led the league in completion percentage (70.7 percent), passing touchdowns (48), and passer rating (121.5). Rodgers also had the lowest interception percentage in the league, throwing an interception on just one percent of his passing attempts.

    Related | QB Power Rankings 2020: Mahomes looks to win second Super Bowl, overtake Rodgers

    The Packers’ offense became the most dominant in the league, leading the NFL in touchdown percentage per passing play (9.1 percent). Davante Adams finished the season ahead of Buffalo Bills receiver Stefon Diggs in receiving yards per game as Rodgers’ main target.

    Aaron Rodgers becomes the 39th quarterback to win the NFL MVP award. It’s evident in its 58-year history that offensive players typically win the league MVP award. Only three none offensive players have ever won the award.

    Has Rodgers won an MVP award before?

    In winning the 2020 NFL MVP award, Aaron Rodgers joins a select club of multiple winners. After securing the honor in 2011 and 2014, the Packers’ quarterback now has three NFL MVP awards to his name. He joins Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady and the man he replaced in Green Bay — Brett Favre — with three as the magic number.

    Only former Indianapolis Colts and Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning has more. Manning secured an incredible five NFL MVP awards before retiring following his Super Bowl L victory over the Carolina Panthers.

    How does this NVL MVP Award compare to Aaron Rodgers’ previous two?

    There are plenty of eerie similarities between all three. In each of his three NFL MVP seasons, the Packers have been the number one scoring offense in the NFL. Rodgers has now been first-team All-Pro quarterback in the 2011, 2014, and 2020 seasons. He led the league in adjusted yards per passing attempt in all three NFL MVP seasons.

    They also fell short of the Super Bowl in all three of Rodgers’ NFL MVP seasons.

    After winning Super Bowl MVP in Super Bowl XLV, Rodgers and the Packers lost to the New York Giants in the postseason in 2011. Following his NFL MVP regular season in 2014, the Packers were beaten by the Seattle Seahawks in the NFC Championship Game. This year, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers were in the way of Rodgers’ Super Bowl aspirations amongst following an NFL MVP campaign.

    Despite the similarities between Aaron Rodgers’ NFL MVP campaigns, the 2020 MVP stands out. At the age of 37, Rodgers is, arguably, playing his best football. The statistical evidence is there to add credence to the claim.

    Did Rodgers play the best football of his career in 2020?

    During his 2020 NFL MVP campaign, Rodgers produced multiple career-highs statistically. His 48 passing touchdowns were the most in his career. The 70.7 percent completion percentage was the highest in his career. The 9.1 percent passing plays to touchdown ratio was also a career-high.

    In many respects, Aaron Rodgers elevated his game in this 2020 NFL MVP season. The hallmarks of his game were all there, including the ability to extend plays with his legs to give his receivers time to get open.

    Related | Packers Pre-Senior Bowl 7-Round 2021 NFL Mock Draft

    Despite his advancing years — by NFL standards — Rodgers can still sling the ball downfield with the best of them. His longest completed pass play of the season ranked seventh in the NFL, just behind the notoriously strong-armed Mahomes.

    Under head coach Matt LaFleur, Rodgers has added another layer to his game this season. Rodgers showed his ability to get the ball out quickly and accept the short stuff when the deep ball opportunity didn’t present itself. As a result, Rodgers took the fewest sacks of his career since taking over the starting role from Favre.

    With a third NFL MVP award under his belt, can Aaron Rodgers deliver another Packers Super Bowl title in 2021?

    Want more NFL news and analysis?

    Be sure to follow us on Twitter (@PFN365) to stay in the loop on all things around the NFL. Also, continue to visit Pro Football Network for NFL news and in-depth analysis concerning the 2020 season and beyond.

    Oliver Hodgkinson is a Pro Football Network staff writer. You can follow him on Twitter at @ojhodgkinson.

    Listen to the PFN Inside Access Podcast!

    Listen to the PFN Inside Access Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Fantasy Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review!

    Related Articles