What is standard scoring system in fantasy football?

As fantasy football continues to rise in popularity, here are some of the basics of how standard scoring systems work in 2022.

One of the most essential things fantasy football draft managers need to understand is their scoring settings and how they can impact their team. Scoring changes can vary a player’s range of outcomes and be substantial on both their ADP and long-term value. As we continue our Fantasy 101 series, what is standard scoring, and how does it apply to fantasy football?

Underdog Fantasy is the easiest way to play fantasy football. Click here to get up to $100 in bonus cash today when using promo code PFN.

Analyzing standard scoring in fantasy football

One of the oldest formats in fantasy football, a league that utilizes standard scoring simply does not add points for receptions. Instead, these fantasy leagues revolve around volume, yards, and touchdowns to really differentiate the value amongst players.

Standard scoring fantasy leagues, on average, will score fewer points per week than those which give bonuses or award points for receptions. What it also does is redistribute the value amongst running backs, wide receivers, and tight ends.

Whether it is a half point or a full point, PPR scoring systems award fantasy points for receptions, unlike a standard league.

This has become the default for most websites or fantasy services, taking the place of standard scoring fantasy formats. We see the impact and difference in PPR and standard scoring formats when we look at players who rely on receiving volume for their fantasy upside. That goes for both wide receivers and running backs.

Difference between standard and PPR scoring in fantasy football

In a standard scoring format, running backs who are not heavily utilized out of the backfield, such as Derrick Henry (7.9% target share), Nick Chubb (6.2%), or Cam Akers (1.5 targets/game including playoffs), are not penalized as they are in a PPR format and subsequently pushed down a touch in their overall ADP and rankings.

In contrast, running backs such as Aaron Jones (55.3% of points from receptions) and Austin Ekeler (53.1%), both of whom see a considerable portion of their fantasy production in the receiving game, take a bit of a hit in a standard format. Although the yardage gained from those receptions still counts, as do the touchdowns, losing the guaranteed 1 point per reception does hurt. It’s the equivalent of 10 rushing yards on the ground. Something much harder to obtain consistently unless you are one of the best pure running backs like Chubb or Henry.

The same applies to wide receivers. Even the best this league has to offer see a downturn in production. Their values fall closer to those of running backs around them in drafts.

As an example, Cooper Kupp managers would see his fantasy points fall from 25.9 in PPR formats to 17.3 in standard formats. Justin Jefferson is another example, falling from 19.4 to 13.1.

As with all things scoring-related or rules and fantasy football, it’s all subjective. Build the league that you want to play in. Have the scoring format which gives you the most joy. Speaking for myself, all of my leagues utilize half-point or full-point PPR scoring. However, there are some who still love the old-school style feel of a standard league. All this does is further illustrate the point that no matter what your preference, there is a fantasy league out there for you.

Standard scoring system

While there are countless nuances and subtle differences between fantasy formats, this is the “typical” scoring system for a standard league. Those who have played in leagues in years past will notice little difference. The only chance is the absence of points received for receptions. The rest will feel right at home.

Offensive players

Passing yards: 1 point per 25 yards
Passing touchdowns: 4 points
Rushing yards: 1 point per 10 yards
Rushing touchdowns: 6 points
Receptions: 0 points
Receiving yards: 1 point per 10 yards
Receiving touchdowns: 6 points
2-point conversions: 2 points
Fumble recovered for a touchdown: 6 points

Bonus points

Rushing or receiving TD of 40 yards or more: 2 points
Passing TD of 40 yards or more: 2 points

Penalty points

Intercepted pass: -1 or -2 points
Fumble lost: -2 points

Team defense and special teams

Sacks: 1 point
Interceptions: 2 points
Fumbles recovered: 2 points
Safeties: 2 points
Defensive touchdowns: 6 points
Kick and punt return touchdowns: 6 points
2-point conversion returns: 2 points
Points allowed (0): 10 points
Points allowed (1-6): 7 points
Points allowed (7-13): 4 points
Points allowed (14-20): 1 point
Points allowed (21-27): 0 points
Points allowed (28-34): -1 points
Points allowed (35+): -4 points

Individual defensive players (IDP)

Solo tackles: 1 point
Assisted tackles: 0.5 points
Sacks: 2 points
Sack yards: 1 point per 10 yards
Tackles for loss: 1 point
Quarterback hits: 1 point
Passes defended: 1 point
Interceptions: 3 points
Fumbles forced: 3 points
Fumbles recovered: 3 points
Defensive touchdowns: 6 points
2-point conversion returns: 2 points


50+ yard FG made: 5 points
40-49 yard FG made: 4 points
39 yards or less FG made: 3 points
Rushing, passing, or receiving 2-point conversion: 2 points
Extra point made: 1 point

Penalty points

Missed FG (0-39 yds): -2 points
Missed FG (40-49 yds): -1 point
(note: a missed FG includes any attempt that is blocked, deflected, etc.)

Tommy Garrett is a Fantasy Analyst for Pro Football Network and is a member of the Fantasy Sports Writers Association (FSWA). You can read all of Tommy’s work here and give him a follow on Twitter: @TommyGarrettPFN.


Every day, get free NFL updates sent straight to your inbox!