Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2022: Inductees include LeRoy Butler, Richard Seymour

The Hall of Fame Class of 2022 is set to be highlighted during this year's first preseason game. Who is being inducted in 2022?

As training camps come to an end, the annual Hall of Fame Game is the next stop in the process heading towards the start of the 2022 NFL season. Yes, the game is technically the first preseason matchup of the year; however, its main purpose is to highlight the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class before their enshrinement. Here are the players and coaches who will be inducted as members of the Hall of Fame Class of 2022.

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2022

The 2022 Hall of Fame Class was officially revealed during the NFL Honors ceremony back on Feb. 10, 2022. Here is who will be honored this year.

LeRoy Butler
The legendary strong safety played for 12 years with the Green Bay Packers (1990–2001). He won Super Bowl XXXI. Butler becomes the 28th member of the Packers organization inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Bryant Young
The defensive lineman spent all 14 of his NFL seasons (1994-2007) with the San Francisco 49ers. He started 208 games during his career and was a part of the team when they won Super Bowl XXIX.

Sam Mills
The linebacker spent the first nine years of his NFL career with the New Orleans Saints before heading to Carolina in 1995 for three more seasons. Although he never won a Super Bowl, he was elected to five Pro Bowls, 1996 first-team All-Pro, and two second-team All-Pros (1991, 1992).

Richard Seymour
The defensive tackle played in seven Pro Bowls, was named to five All-Pro teams, and was a member of three Super Bowl-winning Patriots teams.

Tony Boselli
The former offensive tackle played in the NFL for seven seasons with the Jacksonville Jaguars. He received five Pro Bowl selections and three first-team All-Pro honors while appearing in two AFC Championship Games.

Who were the Senior, Contributor, and Coach inductees in 2022?

The Senior nominee was former Raiders WR Cliff Branch. Branch played for the Raiders between 1972 and 1986. For a player to be eligible for nomination by the Seniors Committee, their active careers must be completed for more than 25 years.

In the Contributor category, former referee and NFL director of officiating Art McNally was selected. Dick Vermeil is the coach that was inducted this year. Vermeil was the head coach of the Eagles (1976-92), Rams (1997-99), and Chiefs (2001-05). His 1999 Rams won Super Bowl XXXIV.

Who is playing in the NFL Hall of Fame Game?

This year, the NFL Hall of Fame Game will be played between the Las Vegas Raiders and Jacksonville Jaguars. Jaguars head coach Doug Pederson has already said that their quarterback Trevor Lawrence and most other starters will not see the field for this preseason action. It is unclear if any of the starters for the Raiders will play, but it is unlikely.

The NFL Hall of Fame Game will be played on Thursday, Aug. 4, at 8 p.m. ET at the Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium in Canton, Ohio. You can watch all of the action on NFL Network.

Listen to the PFN Inside Access Podcast!

Listen to the PFN Inside Access Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Fantasy Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review!

Related Articles