PFN Preseason All-Sun Belt Team 2022: Old Dominion trio headline the honors

    The PFN All-Sun Belt Team awards the top players on both sides of the ball from the conference ahead of the 2022 college football season.

    The new era of Sun Belt football is here and indicated on our All-Sun Belt Team for 2022. The new additions to the conference are heavily featured across the board, but old reliable Coastal Carolina returns the conference’s top quarterback in Grayson McCall. Presented in conjunction with our release of our College Football All-Americans, we at PFN debut our 2022 preseason All-Sun Belt Team, as voted on by our team of national analysts and NFL draft evaluators.

    PFN’s 2022 All-Sun Belt Team

    It’s important to note that these teams may look a bit different than the All-Conference teams listed by each individual conference. Our teams mirror our All-Americans, taking into consideration not only what a player has accomplished to date but looking forward to what we expect to see based on the growth of the athlete’s career.

    Offense | First team

    QB: Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina
    RB: Rasheen Ali, Marshall
    RB: Blake Watson, Old Dominion
    WR: Kris Thornton, James Madison
    WR: Ali Jennings, Old Dominion
    WR: Jalen Wayne, South Alabama
    TE: Zack Kuntz, Old Dominion
    FLEX: Te’Vailance Hunt, Arkansas State
    OT: Austin Stidham, Troy
    G: Willie Lampkin, Coastal Carolina
    C: Logan Langemeier, Georgia Southern
    G: Kyle Hergel, Texas State
    OT: Nick Kidwell, James Madison

    Defense | First team

    EDGE: Javon Solomon, Troy
    DT: Zi’Yon Hill, Louisiana
    DT: Tony Thurston, James Madison
    EDGE: Josaiah Stewart, Coastal Carolina
    LB: Carlton Martial, Troy
    LB: Trey Cobb, Appalachian State
    LB: A.J. DeShazor Jr., South Alabama
    CB: Steven Jones Jr., Appalachian State
    CB: D’Jordan Strong, Coastal Carolina
    CB: Darrell Luter Jr., South Alabama
    S: Kam Pedescleaux, Louisiana
    S: Keith Gallmon Jr., South Alabama
    FLEX: Eric Garror, Louisiana

    Specialists | First team

    PK: Seth Keller, Texas State
    P: Ryan Hanson, Arkansas State
    KR: LaMareon James, Old Dominion
    PR: Eric Garror, Louisiana
    LS: Travis Drosos, South Alabama

    Marshall, Old Dominion, and James Madison each make waves on the first team in their first season of Sun Belt football. Rasheen Ali led the country in rushing touchdowns, while ODU’s Blake Watson, Ali Jennings, and Zack Kuntz are one of the country’s top trio of skill players at any program. Kris Thornton should be counted on to haul in some big-time numbers in 2022 as well for the Dukes.

    Offense | Second team

    QB: Darren Grainger, Georgia State
    RB: Frank Gore Jr., Southern Miss
    RB: Chris Smith, Louisiana
    WR: Boogie Knight, UL-Monroe
    WR: Jason Brownlee, Southern Miss
    WR: Javen Banks, Texas State
    TE: Lincoln Sefcik, South Alabama
    FLEX: Corey Gammage, Marshall
    OT: Cooper Hodges, Appalachian State
    G: Isaiah Helms, Appalachian State
    C: Malik Sumter, Georgia State
    G: Damion Daley, Appalachian State
    OT: Anderson Hardy, Appalachian State

    Defense | Second team

    EDGE: Kivon Bennett, Arkansas State
    DT: Will Choloh, Troy
    DT: Thomas Gore, Georgia State
    EDGE: Isaac Ukwu, James Madison
    LB: Zack Woodard, UL-Monroe
    LB: Santrell Latham, Southern Miss
    LB: Josh Carr Jr., Southern Miss
    CB: Steven Gilmore, Marshall
    CB: Micah Abraham, Marshall
    CB: Jordan Swann, James Madison
    S: R’Tarrius Johnson, Old Dominion
    S: Jarius Reimonenq, James Madison
    FLEX: Richard Jibunor, Troy

    Specialists | Second team

    PK: Calum Sutherland, UL-Monroe
    P: Rhys Byrns, Louisiana
    KR: Chris Smith, Louisiana
    PR: Johnnie Lang, Arkansas State
    LS: Christian Johnstone, Appalachian State

    The other newcomer to the conference — Southern Miss — has their first representative on our All-Sun Belt team as Frank Gore Jr.’s dynamic ability from the backfield earns him a spot. Santrell Latham and Josh Carr Jr. showcase how talented this Southern Miss linebacker corps is, even with the unfortunate season-ending injury to Hayes Maples.

    Offense | Honorable mention

    Chase Brice, Appalachian State
    Gunnar Watson, Troy

    Nate Noel, Appalachian State
    Camerun Peoples, Appalachian State
    Braydon Bennett, Coastal Carolina
    Latrele Palmer, James Madison

    Marcell Barbee, Texas State
    Michael Jefferson, Louisiana
    Tez Johnson, Troy
    Peter LeBlanc, Louisiana
    Reggie Brown, James Madison
    Derwin Burgess Jr., Georgia Southern

    Xavier Gravette, Coastal Carolina
    Beau Johnson, Georgia Southern

    Caullin Lacy, South Alabama
    Daetrich Harrington, Appalachian State

    Antwine Loper, Coastal Carolina
    Dalton Cooper, Texas State
    Kendrick Sartor, Marshall
    Carlos Rubio, Louisiana

    AJ Gillie, Louisiana
    Anterrious Gray, South Alabama
    Leroy Thomas, Old Dominion
    Peyton Dunn, UL-Monroe

    Logan Osburn, Marshall
    Tanner Morris, James Madison

    Defense | Honorable mention

    Justin Ellis, Georgia Southern
    Jordan Revels, Texas State
    Dillon Springer, Georgia Southern
    Charles Coleman III, South Alabama

    Wy’Kevious Thomas, South Alabama
    Caleb Thomas, UL-Monroe
    Jerrod Clark, Coastal Carolina
    Sir’Darrius Ellis, Ul-Monroe

    KJ Robertson, Troy
    Melique Straker, Arkansas State
    Charlie Gray, Marshall
    Quae Drake, UL-Monroe
    Blake Carroll, Georgia State
    Eli Neal, Marshall

    Natrone Brooks, Southern Miss
    Lance Boykin, Coastal Carolina
    Bryquice Brown, Georgia State
    Trey Amos, Louisiana
    Quavian White, Georgia State
    Reddy Steward, Troy

    Bralen Trahan, Louisiana
    Sam Kidd, James Madison
    Jabari Johnson, UL-Monroe
    Antavious Lee, Georgia State
    Anthony Wilson, Georgia Southern

    TJ Harris, Troy
    Dell Pettus, Troy

    Specialists | Honorable mention

    Diego Guajardo, South Alabama
    Alex Raynor, Georgia Southern

    Anthony Beck II, Georgia Southern
    Devyn McCormick, UL-Monroe

    Donnovan Moorer, Texas State
    Khaleb Hood, Georgia Southern

    Tez Johnson, Troy
    Caullin Lacy, South Alabama

    Trey Corley, UL-Monroe
    Jack Bullard, Arkansas State

    For other Pro Football Network’s All-Conference Teams, view each conference here: ACC | B1G | Big 12Pac-12SECIndependentsAACC-USAMACMWC

    Listen to the PFN Scouting Podcast

    Listen to the PFN Scouting Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Scouting Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review! Rather watch instead? Check out the PFN Scouting Podcast on our Scouting YouTube channel.

    Related Articles