PFN Preseason All-MWC Team 2022: Dom Peterson, JL Skinner headline defensive-led selections

    The PFN All-MWC Team awards the top players on both sides of the ball from the conference ahead of the 2022 college football season.

    As one would expect, the All-MWC Team for 2022 is headlined by its defensive prowess. Yet, Fresno State’s Jake Haener and Jalen Cropper form one of college football‘s top threats at their respective positions. Presented in conjunction with our release of our College Football All-Americans, we at PFN debut our 2022 preseason All-MWC Team, as voted on by our team of national analysts and NFL draft evaluators.

    PFN’s 2022 All-MWC Team

    It’s important to note that these teams may look a bit different than the All-Conference teams listed by each individual conference. Our teams mirror our All-Americans, taking into consideration not only what a player has accomplished to date but looking forward to what we expect to see based on the growth of the athlete’s career.

    Offense | First team

    QB: Jake Haener, Fresno State
    RB: Brad Roberts, Air Force
    RB: Toa Taua, Nevada
    WR: Jalen Cropper, Fresno State
    WR: Tory Horton, Colorado State
    WR: Jesse Matthews, San Diego State
    TE: Treyton Welch, Wyoming
    FLEX: Dante Wright, Colorado State
    OT: Dontae Bull, Fresno State
    G: Amani Trigg-Wright, UNLV
    C: Bula Schmidt, Fresno State
    G: Quazzel White, Utah State
    OT: Ilm Manning, Hawaii

    Defense | First team

    EDGE: Viliami Fehoko, San Jose State
    DT: Dom Peterson, Nevada
    DT: Jonah Tavai, San Diego State
    EDGE: Cade Hall, San Jose State
    LB: Cam’Ron Carter, Colorado State
    LB: Easton Gibbs, Wyoming
    LB: Kyle Harmon, San Jose State
    CB: Nehemiah Shelton, San Jose State
    CB: Hugh Nelson II, Hawaii
    CB: Cameron Lockridge, Fresno State
    S: Patrick McMorris, San Diego State
    S: JL Skinner, Boise State
    FLEX: Evan Williams, Fresno State

    Specialists | First team

    PK: Jonah Dalmas, Boise State
    P: Aaron Rodriguez, New Mexico
    KR: Jamaal Bell, Nevada
    PR: Jordan Byrd, San Diego State
    LS: Rex Goossen, UNLV

    The strength of the Mountain West is certainly on defense in 2022, but Haener has returned to etch his own legacy at Fresno State. A terrific crop of receivers surrounds Haener as Cropper showcased his ability to take games over against UCLA last season. On defense, however, Cameron Lockridge finds a new home with the Bulldogs after a dominant career at Hawaii. JL Skinner and Patrick McMorris take top honors at safety, but Nevada’s Dom Peterson landed on the PFN Preseason All-American Team as the conference’s lone representative on the first, second, or third teams.

    Offense | Second team

    QB: Logan Bonner, Utah State
    RB: Titus Swen, Wyoming
    RB: George Holani, Boise State
    WR: Josh Kelly, Fresno State
    WR: Zane Pope, Fresno State
    WR: Stefan Cobbs, Boise State
    TE: Trace Buckler, New Mexico
    FLEX: Calvin Tyler Jr., Utah State
    OT: Aaron Frost, Nevada
    G: Eric Abojei, Wyoming
    C: Leif Fautanu, UNLV
    G: Micah Vanterpool, Hawaii
    OT: Brandon Crenshaw-Dickson, San Diego State

    Defense | Second team

    EDGE: David Perales, Fresno State
    DT: Cole Godbout, Wyoming
    DT: Blessman Ta’ala, Hawaii
    EDGE: Vince Sanford, Air Force
    LB: TD Blackmon, Air Force
    LB: Ezekiel Noa, Boise State
    LB: Levelle Bailey, Fresno State
    CB: Caleb Biggers, Boise State
    CB: Tyric LeBeauf, Boise State
    CB: Kaonohi Kaniho, Boise State
    S: Trey Taylor, Air Force
    S: Phillip Hall, UNLV
    FLEX: Justin Houston, Fresno State

    Specialists | Second team

    PK: Daniel Gutierrez, UNLV
    P: Stephan Kotsanlee, Utah State
    KR: Jordyn Byrd, San Diego State
    PR: Thomas Pannunzio, Colorado State
    LS: Ryan Wintermeyer, San Diego State

    Also returning to action is Logan Bonner after he led the Aggies to a conference title last season. Bonner excels in head coach Blake Anderson’s offense and blossomed without having to split reps at quarterback as the duo did at Arkansas State. Fresno State and Boise State’s strengths are indicated here as they dot both offense and defense on the second team more than any other school.

    Offense | Honorable mention

    Hank Bachmeier, Boise State
    Haaziq Daniels, Air Force

    Jordan Mims, Fresno State
    Devonte Lee, Nevada
    Dedrick Parson, Hawaii
    A’Jon Vivens, Colorado State

    Tyrell Shavers
    , San Diego State
    Kyle Williams, UNLV
    Isaiah Hamilton, San Jose State
    Malikhi Miller, San Jose State
    Joshua Cobbs, Wyoming
    Justin McGriff, Utah State

    Tanner Arkin
    , Colorado State
    Jay Rudolph, San Diego State

    Elijah Cooks
    , San Jose State
    DeAndre Hughes, Air Force

    Alfred Edwards
    , Utah State
    Daviyon McDaniel, UNLV
    Frank Crum, Wyoming
    Jaime Navarro, San Jose State

    Isaak Gutierrez
    , New Mexico
    Braylen Nelson, Fresno State
    Zach Watts, Wyoming
    Solo Vaipulu, Hawaii

    Alama Uluave
    , San Diego State
    Chandler Dolphin, Utah State

    Defense | Honorable mention

    Mohamed Kamara
    , Colorado State
    Byron Vaughns, Utah State
    Keshawn Banks, San Diego State
    Patrick Joyner Jr., Utah State

    Jordan Bertagnole
    , Wyoming
    Devin Phillips, Colorado State
    Soane Toia, San Jose State
    Christopher Love, Nevada

    Michael Shawcroft
    , San Diego State
    Ray Leutele, New Mexico
    AJ Vongphachanh, Utah State
    Dequan Jackson, Colorado State
    Kyle Beaudry, UNLV
    Alec Mock, Air Force

    Bentlee Sanders, Nevada
    Cameron Oliver, UNLV
    Donte Martin, New Mexico
    Nohl Williams, UNLV
    Kenyon Reed, San Jose State
    Bralyn Lux, Fresno State

    Camby Goff, Air Force
    CJ Baskerville, San Diego State
    Tavian Combs, New Mexico
    Tre Jenkins, San Jose State

    Tyreque Jones, Boise State
    Jerrick Reed II, New Mexico

    Specialists | Honorable mention

    Matthew Shipley, Hawaii
    Matthew Dapore, Air Force

    Ralph Fawaz, Wyoming
    Matthew Shipley, Hawaii

    Thomas Pannunzio, Colorado State
    Shamar Garrett, San Jose State

    Stefan Cobbs, Boise State
    Luke Wysong, New Mexico

    Andrew Gonneville, San Jose State
    Isaiah Perez, New Mexico

    For other Pro Football Network’s All-Conference Teams, view each conference here: ACC | Big 12Pac-12SECIndependentsAACC-USAMAC | Sun Belt

    Listen to the PFN Scouting Podcast

    Listen to the PFN Scouting Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Scouting Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review! Rather watch instead? Check out the PFN Scouting Podcast on our Scouting YouTube channel.

    Related Articles