PFN Preseason All-Independent Team 2022: BYU QB Jaren Hall earns top spot

    The PFN All-Independent Team awards the top players on both sides of the ball from the FBS Independents ahead of the 2022 college football season.

    For one final year, BYU appears on our All-Independent Team for the 2022 college football season. Set to join the Big 12, BYU sports the top honors across the offensive side of the ball while Notre Dame’s star defenders do the same on defense. Presented in conjunction with our release of our College Football All-Americans, we at PFN debut our 2022 preseason All-Independent Team, as voted on by our team of national analysts and NFL draft evaluators.

    PFN’s 2022 All-Independent Team

    It’s important to note that these teams may look a bit different than the All-Conference teams listed by each individual conference. Our teams mirror our All-Americans, taking into consideration not only what a player has accomplished to date but looking forward to what we expect to see based on the growth of the athlete’s career.

    Offense | First team

    QB: Jaren Hall, BYU
    RB: Christopher Brooks, BYU
    RB: Ellis Merriweather, UMass
    WR: Braden Lenzy, Notre Dame
    WR: Puka Nacua, BYU
    WR: Demario Douglas, Liberty
    TE: Michael Mayer, Notre Dame
    FLEX: Rico Arnold, UMass
    OT: Blake Freeland, BYU
    G: Clark Barrington, BYU
    C: Jarrett Patterson, Notre Dame
    G: Campbell Barrington, BYU
    OT: Josh Lugg, Notre Dame

    Defense | First team

    EDGE: Andre Carter II, Army
    DT: Jayson Ademilola, Notre Dame
    DT: Kwabena Bonsu, Army
    EDGE: Isaiah Foskey, Notre Dame
    LB: Chris Ojoh, New Mexico State
    LB: Jack Kiser, Notre Dame
    LB: Payton Wilgar, BYU
    CB: Kaleb Hayes, BYU
    CB: Jabari Moore, Army
    CB: Cam Hart, Notre Dame
    S: Brandon Joseph, Notre Dame
    S: Javon Scruggs, Liberty
    FLEX: Keenan Pili, BYU

    Specialists | First team

    PK: Blake Grupe, Notre Dame
    P: Ryan Rehkow, BYU
    KR: Brian Brewton, UConn
    PR: Demario Douglas, Liberty
    LS: Michael Vinson, Notre Dame

    Jaren Hall is a top-10 quarterback for the 2022 season and gives the Cougars a chance to win every game this season. He’s got the best offensive line in front of him, perhaps in the entire country, as BYU sends three to the first team and another on the second team. Payton Wilgar also anchors a solid linebacking corps at BYU, while New Mexico State’s Chris Ojoh earns the top honor at the position for all Independent schools this fall.

    Offense | Second team

    QB: Tyhier Tyler, Army
    RB: T.J. Green, Liberty
    RB: Tyrell Robinson, Army
    WR: Cameron Ross, UConn
    WR: Gunner Romney, BYU
    WR: Rico Arnold, UMass
    TE: Isaac Rex, BYU
    FLEX: Jakobi Buchanan, Army
    OT: Cooper McCaw, Liberty
    G: Andrew Kristofic, Notre Dame
    C: Connor Pay, BYU
    G: Connor Finucane, Army
    OT: Joe Alt, Notre Dame

    Defense | Second team

    EDGE: Durell Johnson, Liberty
    DT: Justin Segura, New Mexico State
    DT: Chase Lundt, UConn
    EDGE: Tyler Batty, BYU
    LB: Ian Swenson, UConn
    LB: Josh Ferguson, New Mexico State
    LB: Garrell Johnson, UMass
    CB: Josh Wallace, UMass
    CB: D.J. McCullough, New Mexico State
    CB: Tariq Bracy, Notre Dame
    S: Malik Moore, BYU
    S: Marquel Broughton, Army
    FLEX: Chris Megginson, Liberty

    For other Pro Football Network’s All-Conference Teams, view each conference here: ACC | B1G | Big 12Pac-12SEC  | AACC-USAMACMWCSun Belt

    Listen to the PFN Scouting Podcast

    Listen to the PFN Scouting Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Scouting Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review! Rather watch instead? Check out the PFN Scouting Podcast on our Scouting YouTube channel.

    Related Articles