PFN Preseason All-B1G Team 2022: OSU’s C.J. Stroud, TreVeyon Henderson, and Jaxon Smith-Njigba set to star

The PFN All-B1G Team awards the top players on both sides of the ball from the Big Ten ahead of the 2022 college football season.

Aside from the exceptional talent across the conference, the PFN Preseason All-B1G Team showcases just how stacked the Ohio State Buckeyes are. C.J. Stroud, Jaxon Smith-Njigba, TreVeyon Henderson, and Paris Johnson Jr. take precedents as the Buckeyes return a core of players from college football‘s top offense a season ago. Presented in conjunction with our release of our College Football All-Americans, we at PFN debut our 2022 preseason All-B1G Team, as voted on by our team of national analysts and NFL draft evaluators.

PFN’s 2022 All-B1G Team

It’s important to note that these teams may look a bit different than the All-Conference teams listed by each individual conference. Our teams mirror our All-Americans, taking into consideration not only what a player has accomplished to date, but looking forward to what we expect to see based on the growth of the athlete’s career.

Offense | First team

QB: C.J. Stroud, Ohio State
RB: TreVeyon Henderson, Ohio State
RB: Braelon Allen, Wisconsin
WR: Jaxon Smith-Njigba, Ohio State
WR: Mitchell Tinsley, Penn State
WR: Jayden Reed, Michigan State
TE: Sam LaPorta, Iowa
FLEX: Blake Corum, Michigan
OT: Paris Johnson Jr., Ohio State
G: Alex Palczewski, Illinois
C: John Michael Schmitz, Minnesota
G: Tyler Beach, Wisconsin
OT: Peter Skoronski, Northwestern

Defense | First team

EDGE: Zach Harrison, Ohio State
DT: Mazi Smith, Michigan
DT: Jacob Slade, Michigan State
EDGE: Ochaun Mathis, Nebraska 
LB: Jack Campbell, Iowa
LB: Cam Jones, Indiana
LB: Cal Haladay, Michigan State
CB: Denzel Burke, Ohio State
CB: Riley Moss, Iowa
CB: Tiawan Mullen, Indiana
S: Ronnie Hickman, Ohio State
S: Cam Allen, Purdue
FLEX: Jalen Graham, Purdue

Specialists | First team

PK: Noah Ruggles, Ohio State
P: Adam Korsak, Rutgers
KR: Charlie Jones, Iowa
PR: Jayden Reed, Michigan State
LS: Bradley Robinson, Ohio State

Not only do the Buckeyes return a core of star players on offense, but they also return three stars on the defensive side of the ball. Cornerback Denzel Burke wowed as a freshman a season ago and is poised to take the next step in his sophomore season. Ochaun Mathis transfers into the Big Ten and is ready to make a big impact.

Offense | Second team

QB: Aidan O’Connell, Purdue
RB: Chase Brown, Illinois
RB: Mohamed Ibrahim, Minnesota
WR: Rakim Jarrett, Maryland
WR: Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State
WR: Parker Washington, Penn State
TE: Erick All, Michigan
FLEX: Ronnie Bell, Michigan
OT: Dawand Jones, Ohio State
G: J.D. Duplain, Michigan State
C: Joe Tippmann, Wisconsin
G: Zak Zinter, Michigan
OT: Jaelyn Duncan, Maryland

Defense | Second team

EDGE: Keith Randolph Jr., Illinois
DT: Branson Deen, Purdue
DT: PJ Mustipher, Penn State
EDGE: Nick Herbig, Wisconsin
LB: Luke Reimer, Nebraska
LB: Steele Chambers, Ohio State
LB: Mariano Sori-Marin, Minnesota
CB: Joey Porter Jr., Penn State
CB: Max Melton, Rutgers
CB: A.J. Hampton Jr., Northwestern
S: Ji’Ayir Brown, Penn State
S: Xavier Henderson, Michigan State
FLEX: DJ Turner, Michigan

Specialists | Second team

PK: Jake Moody, Michigan
P: Bryce Baringer, Michigan State
KR: Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State
PR: Charlie Jones, Iowa
LS: William Wagner, Michigan

With the talent returning on the offensive side of the ball, it’s imperative that the Big Ten defenses are stacked with talent. The second-team All-B1G Team is headlined by the secondary group with Joey Porter Jr. and Ji’Ayir Brown returning to Penn State. Northwestern’s A.J. Hampton Jr. and Rutgers’ Max Melton also present challenges to complete passes against.

Offense | Honorable mention

Taulia Tagovailoa
, Maryland
Payton Thorne, Michigan State

Evan Hull, Northwestern
Shaun Shivers, Indiana
Jarek Broussard, Michigan State
Jalen Berger, Michigan State

Dontay Demus Jr.
, Maryland
Milton Wright, Purdue
Emeka Egbuka, Ohio State
Chris Autman-Bell, Minnesota
Julian Fleming, Ohio State
Andrel Anthony, Michigan

Payne Durham
, Purdue
Brevyn Spann-Ford, Minnesota

Donovan Edwards
, Michigan
Miyan Williams, Ohio State

Matthew Bedford
, Indiana
Jarrett Horst, Michigan State
Ryan Hayes, Michigan
Jack Nelson, Wisconsin

Connor Colby
, Iowa
Nouredin Nouili, Nebraska
Trevor Keegan, Michigan
Matt Carrick, Michigan State

Olusegun Oluwatimi
, Michigan
Luke Wypler, Ohio State

Defense | Honorable mention

Durell Nchami
, Maryland
Jack Sawyer, Ohio State
Garrett Nelson, Nebraska
Adetomiwa Adebawore, Northwestern

Jer’Zhan Newton
, Illinois
Trill Carter, Minnesota
Lukas Van Ness, Iowa
Simeon Barrow, Michigan State

Nick Henrich
, Nebraska
Seth Benson, Iowa
Bryce Gallagher, Northwestern
Curtis Jacobs, Penn State
Junior Colson, Michigan
Tarique Barnes, Illinois

Deonte Banks, Maryland
Cameron Brown, Ohio State
Cory Trice, Purdue
Cameron Mitchell, Northwestern
Quinton Newsome, Nebraska
Charles Brantley, Michigan State

Angelo Grose, Michigan State
Josh Proctor, Ohio State
Avery Young, Rutgers
Christian Izien, Rutgers

Jakorian Bennett, Maryland
John Torchio, Wisconsin

Specialists | Honorable mention

Mitchell Fineran, Purdue
Chad Ryland, Wisconsin

Brad Robbins, Michigan
Tory Taylor, Iowa

Jayden Reed, Michigan State
Aron Cruickshank, Rutgers

Aron Cruickshank, Rutgers
A.J. Henning, Michigan

Chris Stoll, Penn State
Hank Pepper, Michigan State

For other Pro Football Network’s All-Conference Teams, view each conference here: ACCBig 12Pac-12SECIndependentsAACC-USAMACMWCSun Belt

Listen to the PFN Scouting Podcast

Listen to the PFN Scouting Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Scouting Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review! Rather watch instead? Check out the PFN Scouting Podcast on our Scouting YouTube channel.

Related Articles