Facebook Pixel

    2023 NFL Waiver Wire: Order, Rules, Claim System, and More

    How does the NFL waiver wire work, what determines the order, and how does the process play out once all 32 NFL franchises have submitted their 53-man rosters?

    The NFL waiver wire order is back in the spotlight after the surprise release of Indianapolis Colts LB Darius Shaquille Leonard. Every year, there seem to be some surprise cuts, so anticipate some buzz for NFL waivers. What is the current order, and how do NFL waivers work?

    What Is the 2023 NFL Waiver Wire Order?

    The waiver wire is determined from the worst team to the best. Following the day after the Super Bowl until the end of the third regular-season game the following season, the waiver wire order stays the same and is concurrent from that year’s NFL Draft standings (excluding any pre-draft trades).

    The following waiver wire order is accurate as of the end of Week 11 of the 2023 NFL season.

    1) Carolina Panthers
    2) Arizona Cardinals
    3) New England Patriots
    4) Chicago Bears
    5) New York Giants
    6) Tennessee Titans
    7) Washington Commanders
    8) New York Jets
    9) Los Angeles Chargers
    10) Tampa Bay Buccaneers
    11) Atlanta Falcons
    12) Los Angeles Rams
    13) Green Bay Packers
    14) Las Vegas Raiders
    15) Cincinnati Bengals
    16) Denver Broncos
    17) Indianapolis Colts
    18) New Orleans Saints
    19) Buffalo Bills
    20) Minnesota Vikings
    21) Pittsburgh Steelers
    22) Houston Texans
    23) Seattle Seahawks
    24) Dallas Cowboys
    25) Cleveland Browns
    26) Miami Dolphins
    27) Jacksonville Jaguars
    28) San Francisco 49ers
    29) Kansas City Chiefs
    30) Baltimore Ravens
    31) Detroit Lions
    32) Philadelphia Eagles

    How Does the NFL Waiver Wire Work?

    The waiver wire can be a tad complicated. The first point to note is that not all cuts are the same. The NFL differentiates waiver wire eligibility between vested veterans and less experienced players. A vested veteran is a player who has accrued four or more seasons.

    The NFL defines an accrued season as six or more games on either a team’s 53-man roster, on injured reserve, or on the physically unable to perform (PUP) list. If a player is categorized as a “veteran,” they skip the waiver process and become unrestricted free agents. However, after the trade deadline passes on Nov. 2, vested veterans will have to go through waivers if released.

    If a player is claimed on the waiver wire, the team selecting them must have an open spot on their 53-man roster. If the spot doesn’t already exist before the claim is accepted, teams usually have about an hour to create a spot once they have received the league’s personnel notice that the player has been claimed. This can be done by either releasing another player or using the practice squad or IR.

    If a player is not claimed on the waiver wire, they become unrestricted free agents. One interesting point to note is that there is no limit on how many players you can make a claim for. However, a team needs to have space on their active roster for the player they are claiming. Additionally, the waiver wire order does not reset once a claim is made.

    Listen to the PFN Inside Access Podcast!

    Listen to the PFN Inside Access Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Fantasy Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review!

    Related Articles