List of Current XFL Head Coaches: Hines Ward, Rod Woodson Headline 2023 Coaches

Third time's the charm, right? The XFL is on its way back once again! Here are the XFL head coaches that will lead the league's eight teams.

As the XFL continues to draw near, anticipation for a “brand new” spring league continues to grow. Yes, this might be the third time the XFL tries to get off the ground, but thanks to the star power of Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and the expansion of sports betting, there is optimism that this might finally be the time for the famous league. Let’s take a look at the head coaches that will man the eight XFL teams this season.

List of XFL Head Coaches

Arlington Renegades | Bob Stoops

Bob Stoops returns as the Arlington Renegades head coach after his brief stint with the league back in 2020. Stoops, most famous for his long-time career with the University of Oklahoma and his hand in the creation of the Air Raid offense, brings a ton of experience to the role. He has a 191-48 record over his 33-year college career and is the winningest coach in Oklahoma history.

DC Defenders | Reggie Barlow

Reggie Barlow, who will be the head coach of the DC Defenders, brings with him a combined knowledge of both playing in the NFL and coaching at a college level. He was selected in the fourth round of the 1996 NFL Draft by the Jacksonville Jaguars before playing for the Oakland Raiders and the Super Bowl XXXVII champion Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Barlow also spent six seasons coaching at Virginia State.

Houston Roughnecks | Wade Phillips

Arguably the most experienced of the XFL head coaches, Wade Phillips will lead the Houston Roughnecks on the sidelines. Phillips’ résumé is beyond impressive. Over his 40-year career, he has coached at the college and pro level with Oklahoma State, the University of Kansas, the Houston Oilers, New Orleans Saints, Philadelphia Eagles, Denver Broncos, Buffalo Bills, Atlanta Falcons, San Diego Chargers, Dallas Cowboys, Houston Texans, and Los Angeles Rams.

Orlando Guardians | Terrell Buckley

Terrell Buckley, a name that should be familiar to NFL fans, spent 13 years in the league. He was selected fifth overall by the Green Bay Packers in the 1992 draft and went on to play for the Miami Dolphins, Denver Broncos, New England Patriots, New York Jets, and New York Giants.

Buckley also won Super Bowl XXXVI. Now, he brings his talents to Orlando to be the head coach for the Guardians.

San Antonio Brahmas | Hines Ward

While Phillips might be the most experienced name on this list, Hines Ward might be the most famous. Most recently the wide receivers coach for the FAU Owls, Ward will now try his hand as a head coach when he leads the San Antonio Brahmas into their first XFL season.

MORE: What Is the XFL?

Ward is a 13-year NFL veteran and two-time Super Bowl champion (XL, XLIII), who was selected in the third round by the Pittsburgh Steelers in the 1998 NFL Draft. He is still the Steelers’ all-time leader in receptions to this day.

Seattle Sea Dragons | Jim Haslett

Jim Haslett is no stranger to coaching for new football leagues. Most recently, he was with the Tennessee Titans as their inside linebackers coach, but before that, he spent some of his 30+ years of experience with teams like the Florida Tuskers of the United Football League and the Sacramento Surge of the World Football League of American Football.

St. Louis Battlehawks | Anthony Becht

Anthony Becht is a 12-year NFL veteran and was selected 27th overall by the New York Jets in the 2000 draft. He is making a pretty significant leap into the world of head coaching, after spending a good amount of time with Wiregrass Ranch High School as their offensive coordinator.

Vegas Vipers | Rod Woodson

Alongside Ward, Rod Woodson might be the most storied of the XFL head coaches. Woodson has under his belt a 17-year NFL career, in which he won three Super Bowls (XXX, XXXV, XXXVII).

Woodson was drafted 10th overall by Pittsburgh in the 1987 NFL Draft and went on to play with the San Francisco 49ers, Baltimore Ravens, and Oakland Raiders. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2009 and the College Football Hall of Fame in 2016.

Related Stories

Related Articles