Where Does Cincinnati Bengals QB Joe Burrow Rank on List of 2024 MVP Odds?

For the second season in a row, Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow is among the favorites to win the MVP award.

CINCINNATI — The Cincinnati Bengals are one of the early betting favorites to win Super Bowl 59 in New Orleans, coming in with the fifth shortest odds, according to multiple sports books.

But one of their stars has an even better chance to capture the league’s top individual honor.

Bengals QB Joe Burrow Among Favorites To Win 2024 MVP

FanDuel lists quarterback Joe Burrow with the third-shortest odds to win the 2024 NFL MVP award at +1000.

Only Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes, the back-to-back reigning Super Bowl MVP, and Buffalo Bills quarterback Josh Allen have shorter odds.

Mahomes is listed at +650 while Allen is at +800.

The top six are all AFC quarterbacks. The Houston Texans’ C.J. Stroud is fourth at +1100, just ahead of reigning MVP Lamar Jackson of the Baltimore Ravens (+1200). The Los Angeles Chargers’ Justin Herbert, who will be working with new head coach Jim Harbaugh, is sixth at +1300.

The top NFC quarterback on the board is the Green Bay Packers’ Jordan Love at +1400.

Last July, Burrow was the co-favorite with Mahomes at +650. Ten days later, Burrow suffered the calf injury that forced him to miss the rest of camp and play in a compromised fashion through the first four weeks of the regular season as the Bengals started 2-2.

In 2021, Burrow’s first full season in the league after tearing his ACL in November of his rookie year, he did not receive any votes for MVP despite leading the Bengals to the Super Bowl and their first postseason victory in more than 30 years.

In 2022, the league began accepting first-, second-, and third-place votes for MVP. Burrow finished fourth behind Mahomes, the Philadelphia Eagles’ Jalen Hurts, and Allen.

Two Cincinnati players have won the MVP award. Quarterback Boomer Esiason did so in 1988 while leading the Bengals to Super Bowl 23, while quarterback Ken Anderson was the first in 1981 as he led the team to Super Bowl 16.

If Burrow could break the drought and win the MVP Award in 2024, he’d likely double up as the league’s Comeback Player of the Year after missing the final seven games with a wrist injury.

KEEP READING: Back in the Big Game? Cincinnati Bengals an Early Betting Favorite for Super Bowl 59

Burrow won the Comeback Player of the Year Award in 2021 after missing the final six games in 2020 due to his ACL injury. He was the second player in franchise history to win that award, following quarterback Jon Kitna in 2003.

Miss football? The 2024 NFL Draft is almost here, boss. Pro Football Network has you covered with everything from team draft needs to the Top 100 prospects available. Plus, fire up PFN’s Mock Draft Simulator to put yourself in the general manager’s seat and make all the calls!

Listen to the PFN Bengals Podcast

Listen to the PFN Bengals Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Bengals Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review! Rather watch instead? Check out the PFN Bengals Podcast on our NFL YouTube channel.

Join the Conversation!

Related Articles