When is the NFL MVP announced? 2022 NFL Honors take place this week

When is the 2022 NFL Honors ceremony, when is the MVP announced, and what other awards will be distributed during the show?

The Lombardi Trophy is not the only hardware handed out by the league this time of the year as the annual NFL Honors show is set to take place and recognize the best of the best, including the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year and 2022 NFL MVP award. When is the NFL Honors award show, and when will the recipients of the NFL MVP award be announced?

When is the 2022 NFL Honors?

The 2022 NFL Honors will take place on Thursday, February 10, at 9 PM ET. This year, the 2022 NFL Honors will be held at the YouTube Theater at the SoFi Entertainment District in Los Angeles. The same location as Super Bowl LVI between the Los Angeles Rams and Cincinnati Bengals.

Emmy Award-winning actor, writer, and producer Keegan-Michael Key will host the festivities this year. He previously hosted in 2017. Comedian Steve Harvey hosted from 2018-2020. Due to the pandemic and other reasons, multiple locations were used, including the Fox Theater in Atlanta, Raymond-James Stadium in Tampa, and SoFi Stadium.

When is the NFL MVP award announced?

The 2022 NFL MVP will be announced on the same night. Yet, as most award shows go, they save the most prestigious awards for last. While there is no definitive schedule laid out, it will be towards the end of the night on February 10.

Packers QB Aaron Rodgers is expected to win the 2022 NFL MVP award for the second time in as many years. The Associated Press announced its 2021 NFL All-Pro team earlier in January, and it tends to be a barometer for who wins the MVP award. Of the 50 votes, Rodgers recorded 34, with Tampa Bay Buccaneers now-retired QB Tom Brady netting 16 votes.

Rodgers is a four-time first-team All-Pro and three-time MVP, winning the award in 2011, 2014, and 2020. When the 2022 NFL MVP is announced, he is the logical favorite to win and make it a fourth.

If Rodgers is announced as the winner of the 2022 NFL MVP Award, he will take sole possession of second-most all-time, breaking a tie with Brett Favre, Jim Brown, and Johnny Unitas, all with three MVPs. Only Peyton Manning (5) has more MVP awards.

Which awards are announced at the 2022 NFL Honors?

While the 2022 NFL MVP and Walter Payton Man of the Year awards are the most decorated, they are not the only ones announced. Here is a list of all the awards set to be announced at the 2022 NFL Honors.

  • AP Most Valuable Player delivered by Pizza Hut
  • Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year presented by Nationwide
  • AP Coach of the Year
  • AP Comeback Player of the Year
  • Bridgestone Clutch Performance Play of the Year
  • AP Offensive Player of the Year presented by Microsoft Surface
  • AP Defensive Player of the Year presented by Castrol
  • Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award
  • AP Offensive Rookie of the Year
  • AP Defensive Rookie of the Year
  • NFL Inspire Change Tribute presented by P&G
  • Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2022
  • FedEx Air & Ground Players of the Year
  • Salute to Service Award presented by USAA
  • Bud Light Celly of the Year
  • Courtyard Unstoppable Performance of the Year
  • NFL Fan of the Year presented by Captain Morgan
  • Deacon Jones Award
  • AP Assistant Coach of the Year

Every day, get free NFL updates sent straight to your inbox!