What time are the NFL Honors tonight? Start time and channel for NFL awards

On the Saturday night before the Super Bowl, the NFL hosts its honors ceremony, a night of celebration for the league ahead of the big game. Highlighted by the announcements of the NFL’s Most Valuable Player award, Walter Payton Man of the Year, the newest Hall of Fame class, and a performance from Green Day, it is sure to be a great night. So what time are the NFL Honors on tonight? Here’s all the information you need to know.

When is the NFL Honors ceremony?

What time are the NFL Honors starting tonight? The show kicks off tonight at 9:00 PM ET. The two-hour ceremony was pre-recorded and produced to follow proper procedures and safety protocols. Comedian and six-time Emmy award-winner Steve Harvey hosts the show for the third consecutive year.

What channel will the NFL Honors be on in 2021?

Fans can watch the NFL Honors Ceremony on CBS or livestream the show on Hulu Live or Fubo TV. Some awards, like AP Most Valuable Player (presented by Pizza Hut), and the Comeback Player of the Year (presented by Visa) seemed to be wrapped up.

Green Bay Packers QB Aaron Rodgers and Washington QB Alex Smith should take home those honors, respectively. However, some of the honors are not quite as clear to call.

Tightly Contested Awards

Defensive Player of the Year

Defensive Player of the Year sees three players with strong résumés duking it out for the top honor. Two-time award-winning Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald continued his domination in the league and has his hat in the ring yet again.

However, Pittsburgh Steelers linebacker T.J. Watt led the league in sacks with 15.0. In addition, Miami Dolphins cornerback Xavien Howard led the league with 10 interceptions. Both players stand a good chance at taking the honors.

Coach of the Year

Another tightly contested battle is the AP Coach of the Year award, presented by Bose. Cleveland Browns head coach Kevin Stefanski piloted the franchise to its first playoff berth since 2002. He coupled that with the team’s first postseason victory since 1994.

On his tail for the award, however, is Dolphins’ head coach Brian Flores. Flores doubled his team’s win total in his second year and has transformed one of the worst teams in the league a season ago into a team knocking on the door. Finally, there’s Ron Rivera, head coach of the Washington Football Team. Rivera led the team to a playoff berth despite a terrible quarterback situation, all while battling and beating cancer.

Stefanski is probably considered the favorite for the award, but all three coaches have a strong case for the honor of the NFL’s Coach of the Year.

Offensive Rookie of the Year

Lastly, there’s the AP NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year award, presented by Microsoft Surface. It’s a close call between Los Angeles Chargers QB Justin Herbert and Minnesota Vikings WR Justin Jefferson.

Herbert broke the record for most passing touchdowns by a rookie QB in a season with 31 and had the second-most passing yards. Meanwhile, Jefferson lit up Minnesota’s offense despite sharing the limelight with All-Pros. He broke the rookie record for receiving yards with 1,400 and scored 7 touchdowns.

With 19 awards to give out throughout the NFL Honors ceremony, there are sure to be players, plays, and performances for any and all fans to celebrate and remember — a final wrap before the final game of the season.

Want more NFL news and analysis?

Be sure to follow us on Twitter (@PFN365) to stay in the loop on football today and all things around the NFL. Also, continue to visit Pro Football Network for NFL news and in-depth analysis concerning the 2020 season and beyond.