List of Super Bowl Winners by Year

    There have been a number of teams to host the Lombardi Trophy over the years. Here is a list of all the Super Bowl winners by year.

    On June 8, 1966, the AFL and NFL officially announced their plans to merge the two leagues. They formally merged in 1970 to form the NFL as we know it today. However, Super Bowl I, as we like to call it, officially took place in 1967. Let’s take a look at every Super Bowl winner that the league has seen since the inception of the big game.

    List of Super Bowl Winners by Year

    • 2024: Kansas City Chiefs
    • 2023: Kansas City Chiefs
    • 2022: Los Angeles Rams
    • 2021: Tampa Bay Buccaneers
    • 2020: Kansas City Chiefs
    • 2019: New England Patriots
    • 2018: Philadelphia Eagles
    • 2017: New England Patriots
    • 2016: Denver Broncos
    • 2015: New England Patriots
    • 2014: Seattle Seahawks
    • 2013: Baltimore Ravens
    • 2012: New York Giants
    • 2011: Green Bay Packers
    • 2010: New Orleans Saints
    • 2009: Pittsburgh Steelers
    • 2008: New York Giants
    • 2007: Indianapolis Colts
    • 2006: Pittsburgh Steelers
    • 2005: New England Patriots
    • 2004: New England Patriots
    • 2003: Tampa Bay Buccaneers
    • 2002: New England Patriots
    • 2001: Baltimore Ravens
    • 2000: St. Louis Rams
    • 1999: Denver Broncos
    • 1998: Denver Broncos
    • 1997: Green Bay Packers
    • 1996: Dallas Cowboys
    • 1995: San Francisco 49ers
    • 1994: Dallas Cowboys
    • 1993: Dallas Cowboys
    • 1992: Washington
    • 1991: New York Giants
    • 1990: San Francisco 49ers
    • 1989: San Francisco 49ers
    • 1988: Washington
    • 1987: New York Giants
    • 1986: Chicago Bears
    • 1985: San Francisco 49ers
    • 1984: Los Angeles Raiders
    • 1983: Washington
    • 1982: San Francisco 49ers
    • 1981: Oakland Raiders
    • 1980: Pittsburgh Steelers
    • 1979: Pittsburgh Steelers
    • 1978: Dallas Cowboys
    • 1977: Oakland Raiders
    • 1976: Pittsburgh Steelers
    • 1975: Pittsburgh Steelers
    • 1974: Miami Dolphins
    • 1973: Miami Dolphins
    • 1972: Dallas Cowboys
    • 1971: Baltimore Colts
    • 1970: Kansas City Chiefs
    • 1969: New York Jets
    • 1968: Green Bay Packers
    • 1967: Green Bay Packers

    Who’s Won the Most Consecutive Super Bowls Through NFL History?

    Throughout its long and illustrious lifespan, there has actually never been an NFL team to win more than two consecutive Super Bowls. There are two teams that have come close. The Miami Dolphins reached the Super Bowl for three consecutive years from 1971-1973, but they only won two of them. The 2016-2018 New England Patriots accomplished that same feat, making it to three but only winning two.

    MORE: Super Bowl Winners by Team

    There is one team, however, that holds the unfortunate honor of making it to four Super Bowls in a row but never winning one. That would be the Buffalo Bills, who tried to win the Lombardi Trophy four straight times from 1990-1993, losing each one.

    There have been nine teams to win consecutive Super Bowls throughout the NFL’s history. The Green Bay Packers were the first, winning both Super Bowl I and II. They were followed by the Dolphins, who won in 1973 and 1974. The Pittsburgh Steelers did exactly the same in 1975 and 1976. Then, to really highlight their dominance in the 70s, the Steelers went back-to-back just two years later, winning in 1979 and 1980.

    Fast forward a few years, and the San Francisco 49ers joined the fray, winning in 1989 and 1990. The Dallas Cowboys also went back-to-back in 1993 and 1994.

    The Denver Broncos added their name to the record book by winning the last two Super Bowls of the 90s in 1998 and 1999. It would then take a few more years until another team managed to achieve this accomplishment, with the Patriots doing so in 2004 and 2005.

    In Super Bowls 57 and 58, the Kansas City Chiefs won back-to-back Lombardi Trophies. They became the ninth team to win back-to-back Super Bowls.

    KEEP READING: List of Super Bowl MVPs By Year

    As the 2023 NFL season comes to a close, the 2024 NFL Draft is on the horizon. Pro Football Network has you covered with everything from team draft needs to the Top 100 prospects available. Plus, fire up PFN’s Mock Draft Simulator to put yourself in the general manager’s seat and make all the calls!

    Related Articles