Justin Herbert and Maxx Crosby win 2022 Pro Bowl MVP Awards

QB Justin Herbert and DE Maxx Crosby take home the 2022 Pro Bowl MVP Awards. How did the two perform in the all-star contest?

The Pro Bowl isn’t the most prestigious event, but it is always fun to see the NFL’s biggest stars on the field at the same time. After four quarters of light-hearted competition between the AFC and NFC all-stars, Los Angeles Chargers quarterback Justin Hebert and Las Vegas Raiders edge rusher Maxx Crosby received the 2022 Pro Bowl Offensive and Defensive MVP Awards.

Justin Herbert and Maxx Crosby win 2022 Pro Bowl MVP Awards

The game was not a clean one from the two sides, with each team owning multiple turnovers. Nevertheless, the AFC defeated the NFC in a high-scoring affair, 41-35. While his stats don’t pop, Herbert completed 7 of 11 passes for 98 yards, 2 touchdowns, and 1 interception. He kicked off the AFC’s offensive scoring, throwing a 15-yard touchdown to Baltimore Ravens TE Mark Andrews.

Then, on Herbert’s next series, he found Andrews again for the last score of the first half. That capped off a 4-play, 53-yard drive that put the AFC up 28-21 heading into halftime. Herbert didn’t see the field again until the fourth quarter, ending his day with a Marshon Lattimore interception.

Defensively, Crosby tore it up. He began his performance with a near pick on the opening drive. He ended the 2022 Pro Bowl with 5 total tackles, 2 sacks, and 3 pass deflections, disrupting the NFC’s offensive output.

Crosby ended his 2021-2022 NFL season with a bang, earning Pro Bowl Defensive MVP honors as a result of his stellar outing. Sure, most players were just going through the motions. But some, like Crosby, wanted to give their fans a performance they could be proud of.

History of the Pro Bowl MVP

The Pro Bowl did not incorporate the NFC vs. AFC format until 1970, following the NFL-AFL merger. There have been 51 Pro Bowls since 1970, meaning 51 players earned Pro Bowl MVP honors. Here is a full list of every Pro Bowl MVP in NFL history.


  • 1970: Fred Carr, LB, Green Bay Packers & Mel Renfro, CB, Dallas Cowboys
  • 1971: Willie Lanier, LB, Kansas City Chiefs & Jan Stenerud, K, Kansas City Chiefs
  • 1972: O.J. Simpson, RB, Buffalo Bills
  • 1973: Garo Yepremian, K, Miami Dolphins
  • 1974: James Harris, QB, Los Angeles Rams
  • 1975: Billy Johnson, WR, Houston Oilers
  • 1976: Mel Blount, CB, Pittsburgh Steelers
  • 1977: Walter Payton, RB, Chicago Bears
  • 1978: Ahmad Rashad, WR, Minnesota Vikings
  • 1979: Chunk Muncie, RB, New Orleans Saints


  • 1980: Eddie Murray, K, Detroit Lions
  • 1981: Kellen Winslow, TE, San Diego Chargers & Lee Roy Selmon, DE, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • 1982: Dan Fouts, QB, San Diego Chargers & John Jefferson, WR, Green Bay Packers
  • 1983: Joe Theismann, QB, Washington Commanders
  • 1984: Mark Gastineau, DE, New York Jets
  • 1985: Phil Simms, QB, Buffalo Bills
  • 1986: Reggie White, DE, Philadelphia Eagles
  • 1987: Bruce Smith, DE, Buffalo Bills
  • 1988: Randall Cunningham, QB, Philadelphia Eagles
  • 1989: Jerry Gray, CB, Los Angeles Rams


  • 1990: Jim Kelly, QB, Buffalo Bills
  • 1991: Michael Irvin, WR, Dallas Cowboys
  • 1992: Steve Tasker, WR, Buffalo Bills
  • 1993: Andre Rison, WR, Buffalo Bills
  • 1994: Marshall Faulk, RB, Indianapolis Colts
  • 1995: Jerry Rice, WR, San Francisco 49ers
  • 1996: Mark Brunell, QB, Jacksonville Jaguars
  • 1997: Warren Moon, QB, Seattle Seahawks
  • 1998: Keyshawn Johnson, WR, New York Jets & Ty Law, CB, New England Patriots
  • 1999: Randy Moss, WR, Minnesota Vikings


  • 2000: Rich Gannon, QB, Oakland Raiders
  • 2001: Rich Gannon, QB, Oakland Raiders
  • 2002: Ricky Williams, RB, Miami Dolphins
  • 2003: Marc Bulger, QB, St. Louis Rams
  • 2004: Peyton Manning, QB, Indianapolis Colts
  • 2005: Derrick Brooks, LB, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • 2006: Carson Palmer, QB, Cincinnati Bengals
  • 2007: Adrian Peterson, RB, Minnesota Vikings
  • 2008: Larry Fitzgerald, WR, Arizona Cardinals
  • 2009: Matt Schaub, QB, Houston Texans


  • 2010: DeAngelo Hall, CB, Washington Commanders
  • 2011: Brandon Marshall, WR, Miami Dolphins
  • 2012: Kyle Rudolph, TE, Minnesota Vikings
  • 2013: Nick Foles, QB, Philadelphia Eagles & Derrick Johnson, LB, Kansas City Chiefs
  • 2014: Matthew Stafford, QB, Detroit Lions & J.J. Watt, DE, Houston Texans
  • 2015: Russell Wilson, QB, Seattle Seahawks & Michael Bennett, DE, Seattle Seahawks
  • 2016: Travis Kelce, TE, Kansas City Chiefs & Lorenzo Alexander, LB, Buffalo Bills
  • 2017: Delanie Walker, TE, Tennessee Titans & Von Miller, DE, Denver Broncos
  • 2018: Patrick Mahomes, QB, Kansas City Chiefs & Jamal Adams, S, New York Jets
  • 2019: Lamar Jackson, QB, Baltimore Ravens & Calais Campbell, DE, Jacksonville Jaguars
  • 2021: Justin Herbert, QB, Los Angeles Chargers & Maxx Crosby, DE, Las Vegas Raiders

Listen to the PFN Inside Access Podcast!

Listen to the PFN Inside Access Podcast! Click the embedded player below to listen, or you can find the PFN Fantasy Podcast on iTunes, Spotify, and all major podcast platforms.  Be sure to subscribe and leave us a five-star review!

Related Articles